The picturesque village, which is hidden in the heart of the Visegrád Mountains, made of volcanic rock, andesite, can be approached from Szentendre and Visegrád. The area has been inhabited for a long time: Bronze Age and Roman remains have been found in the area, and it was a royal hunting ground from the time of the Árpád kings. King Béla III’s hunting lodge once stood on the hill above the village, and the hunting lodge, called ‘Kékes’, later became a monastery of the Palatines. The village was destroyed during the Turkish occupation and was rebuilt from the stones of the former monastery by the returning Palatines. The population, mostly Slovaks, who settled in the village in the 18th century from the Highlands, still preserve its traditions – just as their ancestors considered it important to preserve the character of the village and its natural environment. The entire area of the village, both inside and outside, is part of the Danube-Ipoly National Park, and its famous natural formations include the St. László Hill, the Urak Table, the Old Pope Hill and the Spike Hill. The sight of the stallion grazing on the Paprét is an attraction in itself, but there is also horse riding. The Roman Catholic Church of St. László the King: built between 1770 and 1772 on the site of the former Pauline monastery on the hill above the village.
onkormanyzat@pilisszentlaszlo.hu
https://pilisszentlaszlo.hu/